top of page
  • Writer's pictureAzuko

What is Fluid mechanics ?

Fluid mechanics is the branch of physics concerned with the mechanics of fluids (liquids, gases, and plasma) and the forces on them.

Types of fluids:

Basically the fluids are classified into 5 types and these are

1. Ideal fluid 2. Real fluid 3. Newtonian fluid 4. Non-Newtonian fluid, and 5. Ideal plastic fluid

1. Ideal Fluid:

A fluid which cannot be compressed and has no viscosity falls in the category of ideal fluid. Ideal fluid is not found in actual practice but it is an imaginary fluid because all the fluid that exist in the environment have some viscosity. There is no ideal fluid in reality.

2. Real Fluid:

A fluid which has at least some viscosity is called real fluid. Actually all the fluids existing or present in the environment are called real fluids. E.g. water

3. Newtonian Fluid:

If a real fluid obeys the Newton’s law of viscosity (i.e the shear stress is directly proportional to the shear strain) then it is known as the Newtonian fluid.

4. Non-Newtonian Fluid:

If real fluid does not obeys the Newton’s law of viscosity then it is called Non-Newtonian fluid.

5. Ideal Plastic Fluid:

A fluid having the value of shear stress more than the yield value and shear stress is proportional to the shear strain (velocity gradient) is known as ideal plastic fluid.


Azuko Technical Institute


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page